Awards: American Academy Literature; Desmond Elliott

The 19 writers who won the American Academy of Arts and Letters 2017 awards in literature can be seen here. The prizes, totaling $265,000, honor both established and emerging writers of fiction, nonfiction, drama and poetry. They will be presented at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial in New York City next month.


A longlist has been announced for the £10,000 (about $12,450) Desmond Elliott Prize, which honors a first novel written in English and published in the U.K. A shortlist will be released May 5, and the winner revealed June 21. This year's Desmond Elliott longlist:

Harmless Like You by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
My Name Is Leon by Kit de Waal
Little Deaths by Emma Flint
Montpelier Parade by Karl Geary
The Transition by Luke Kennard
Ithaca by Alan McMonagle
The Sacred Combe by Thomas Maloney
They Are Trying to Break Your Heart by David Savill
Golden Hill by Francis Spufford
Forbidden Line by Paul Stanbridge 

Powered by: Xtenit