Awards: NBA Fiction Longlist; Flannery O'Connor

The National Book Foundation unveiled the last of its longlists for the 2017 National Book Awards. Following young people's literature, poetry and nonfiction, it released this longlist for fiction:

Dark at the Crossing by Elliot Ackerman (Knopf)
The King Is Always Above the People: Stories by Daniel Alarcón (Riverhead Books)
Miss Burma by Charmaine Craig (Grove Press)
Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan (Scribner)
The Leavers by Lisa Ko (Algonquin)
Pachinko by Min Jin Lee (Grand Central Publishing)
Her Body and Other Parties: Stories by Carmen Maria Machado (Graywolf Press)
A Kind of Freedom by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton (Counterpoint Press)
Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward (Scribner)
Barren Island by Carol Zoref (New Issues Poetry & Prose)


Kirsten Lunstrum has won the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction. She receives a $1,000 prize, and her collection of short stories, What We Do with the Wreckage, will be published by the University of Georgia Press in fall 2018.

Powered by: Xtenit