Story Prize Judges Include Boswell Book Co.'s Daniel Goldin

The three judges for the next Story Prize are Daniel Goldin, Harold Augenbraum and Sarah Shun-lien Bynum.

Goldin founded Boswell Book Company, Milwaukee, Wis., in 2009, and earlier worked for 23 years at Harry W. Schwartz Bookshops, primarily as a buyer. He has received the Christopher Latham Sholes Award from the Council for Wisconsin Writers for encouraging and supporting Wisconsin writers and a James L. Patterson bookseller bonus.

Augenbraum was executive director of the National Book Foundation from 2004 until early this year and is now a Franke Visiting Fellow at the Whitney Humanities Center of Yale University.

Sarah Shun-lien Bynum is the author of two novels, Ms. Hempel Chronicles, a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award, and Madeleine Is Sleeping, a finalist for the National Book Award and winner of the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize. Her fiction has appeared in many magazines and anthologies.

The judges will vote on the three story collections that Story Prize director Larry Dark and founder Julie Lindsey will select from more than 100 books entered for consideration. The three finalists will be announced in January. The winner, who receives $20,000, will be announced at an event at the New School in New York City on March 8, 2017, which will feature readings from and interviews with the authors. The two finalists each receive $5,000.

Powered by: Xtenit