Awards: Kirkus, IPNE Book; Poets & Writers

The winners of the 2016 Kirkus Prize, each of whom receives $50,000, are:

Fiction: The Sport of Kings by C.E. Morgan (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
Nonfiction: In the Darkroom by Susan Faludi (Metropolitan/Holt)
Young Readers' Literature: As Brave As You by Jason Reynolds (Caitlyn Dlouhy Books/Atheneum)


Winners of this year's Independent Publishers of New England Book Awards were announced at the IPNE Fall Conference in Portsmouth, N.H.:

Book of the year: Book Design Made Simple by Fiona Raven & Glenna Collett
 (12 Pines Press)
Narrative nonfiction: Sea Miner by Chuck Veit (Chuck Veit Books)
Literary fiction: Madrone by Jack B. Rochester (Wheatmark Books)
Mystery: Asylum by Kathryn Orzech (Kathryn Orzech Publishing)
Fantasy/SciFi: Lady, Thy Name is Trouble by Lori L. MacLaughlin (Book and Sword Publishing)
Historical fiction: A Long Way Back by J. Everett Prewitt (Northland Publishing Company)
Informational nonfiction: Book Design Made Simple by Fiona Raven & Glenna Collett
 (12 Pines Press)
Design: Anesthesia at the House by Joseph Kreutz (UVM Department of Anesthesia)
Art books: Vermont by Edward L. Rubin (Fine Arts Press)
YA: Soulene: A Healer in Paris by Ursula Pearson (i30 Media Corporation)
Children's: The Growing Sweater by Jason J. Marchi (OmicronWorld/Fahrenheit)
Perennial sellers: The Legend of Hobbomock the Sleeping Giant by Jason Marchi, (OmicronWorld/Fahrenheit)
E-books: One Hot Mess by Jeanne Rogers (Acadia Publishing Group)


Poets & Writers magazine is giving the 2017 Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award to Ann Patchett, Francisco Goldman and Richard Shelton. The Editor's Award will be presented to Graywolf Press's publisher and director Fiona McCrae and executive editor Jeff Shotts.

Author Susan Isaacs, chairman of Poets & Writers' board of directors, said, "We are thrilled to have an opportunity to shine a light on the extraordinary contributions of these writers and editors. They embody the values that Poets & Writers aspires to: service, integrity, inclusivity, and excellence."

Poets & Writers said Patchett is being recognized for "her tireless work on behalf of the literary community.... She is known for her efforts to bring together readers and authors--in her own bookstore, in public libraries, and in many other venues."

The organization praised novelist Goldman for "promoting the work of other writers, especially those from Latin America. Goldman created and directs the Aura Estrada Prize (Premio Aura Estrada), which is named for his late wife."

And poet, memoirist and professor Shelton is being honored for teaching "writing workshops in Arizona's prisons for more than four decades, giving scores of incarcerated men access to the transformative power of writing. Several workshop participants have gone on to have successful careers as poets, journalists, and educators."

McCrae and Shotts are being honored for "the tremendous impact they have had, individually and collaboratively."

The awards will be presented at Poets & Writers' annual dinner, In Celebration of Writers, on March 8 in New York City. The chair is Shawn Morin, CEO and president of Ingram Content Group. Jane Alexander will serve as emcee, and Susan Isaacs will present the awards.

Powered by: Xtenit