Awards: Story Prize Finalists; Pacific Northwest Winners

The three finalists for the Story Prize, which honors the author of an outstanding collection of short fiction published in the U.S. in 2016, are:

For a Little While by Rick Bass (Little, Brown)
Goodnight, Beautiful Women by Anna Noyes (Grove Press)
They Were Like Family to Me by Helen Maryles Shankman (Scribner)

Story Prize founder Julie Lindsey and director Larry Dark chose the finalists. The winner will be selected by a jury of three: Daniel Goldin, owner of Boswell Book Company, Milwaukee, Wis.; Harold Augenbraum, National Book Awards executive director; and author Sarah Shun-lien Bynum.

On March 4 at the New School in New York City, the three finalists will read from and discuss their work on-stage with Dark. At the end of the event, Lindsey will announce the winner and present that author with $20,000 along with an engraved silver bowl. The two runners-up will each receive $5,000.


The winners of the 2017 Pacific Northwest Book Awards, sponsored by the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association, are:

  • Barkskins by Annie Proulx (Scribner)
  • Bitch Planet, Book One: Extraordinary Machine by Kelly Sue DeConnick (Image Comics)
  • Marrow Island by Alexis M. Smith (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • On Trails: An Exploration by Robert Moor (Simon & Schuster)
  • Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West (Hachette Books)
  • Thunder Boy Jr. by Sherman Alexie (Little, Brown)
  • To the Bright Edge of the World by Eowyn Ivey (Little, Brown)
Powered by: Xtenit