Awards: Bobbitt Poetry Winners; Lindquist & Vennum Finalists

The Library of Congress will present the biennial $10,000 Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry to Claudia Rankine for her book Citizen: An American Lyric (Graywolf Press) and to Nathaniel Mackey for lifetime achievement. Mackey is the author of six poetry collections, most recently Blue Fasa (New Directions). The winners will receive their awards and read selections from their work on April 20 at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.


Finalists have been named for the 2017 Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry, which "seeks to support outstanding poets residing in Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, North Dakota, and South Dakota and bring their work to a national stage." It is presented in partnership by Milkweed Editions and the Lindquist & Vennum Foundation.

The winner receives $10,000 and a contract for publication of the winning manuscript. The finalists will be featured at Milkweed's second annual National Poetry Month Party on April 13. The winner, chosen by poet and judge Srikanth Reddy, will be announced April 19. This year's finalists are:

The Account of Worms by Angela Voras-Hills
Homeboys with Slipped Halos by Michael Torres
Wait by Paige Riehl
To Afar from Afar by Soham Patel
Solve for Desire by Caitlin Bailey
Gatekeeper by Patrick Johnson 

Powered by: Xtenit