Awards: Nebulas; Chautauqua; Anthonys

Winners of the Nebula Awards, sponsored by the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America, are:

Novel: All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)
Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction & Fantasy: Arabella of Mars by David D. Levine (Tor)
Novella: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)
Novellete: "The Long Fall Up" by William Ledbetter (F&SF 5-6/16)
Short Story: "Seasons of Glass and Iron" by Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation: Arrival, directed by Denis Villeneuve, screenplay by Eric Heisserer
Damon Knight Grand Master Award: Jane Yolen
Kevin O'Donnell Jr. Service to SFWA Award: Jim Fiscus
Solstice Award: Peggy Rae Sapienza (Posthumous), Toni Weisskopf


Peter Ho Davies won the 2017 Chautauqua Prize for his novel The Fortunes (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt). Presented by the Chautauqua Institution, the award celebrates "a book of fiction or literary/narrative nonfiction that provides a richly rewarding reading experience and honors the author for a significant contribution to the literary arts." Davies receives $7,500 and all travel and expenses for himself and his family for a one-week summer residency at Chautauqua from July 8 to 15. A public reading will take place July 12 on the institution's southwestern New York grounds.

"We are thrilled to shine a national spotlight on Peter's latest work by presenting our highest literary honor, the Chautauqua Prize," said Michael E. Hill, the organization's president. "It is very fitting that, during his visit, our community will be engrossed in questions of identity, religion and community."


Finalists for this year's Anthony Awards, which are given at the annual Bouchercon World Mystery Convention, have been announced. Shortlisted for best novel are You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott (Little, Brown); Where It Hurts by Reed Farrel Coleman (Putnam); Red Right Hand by Chris Holm (Mulholland); Wilde Lake by Laura Lippman (Morrow); and A Great Reckoning by Louise Penny (Minotaur). You can view the complete list of Anthony nominees here. Winners will be announced during this year's Bouchercon, which will be held October 12-15 in Toronto, Canada.

Powered by: Xtenit