Awards: Hayek Winner; Arthur Ellis

Deirdre N. McCloskey has won the $50,000 Hayek Book Prize for her book Bourgeois Equality: How Ideas, Not Capital or Institutions, Enriched the World (University of Chicago Press), the culmination of her Bourgeois Trilogy. She will receive the award and deliver the annual Hayek lecture on June 13 in New York City. The award is sponsored by the Manhattan Institute and given to authors "who best represent the principles of F.A. Hayek."

Amity Shlaes, chair of the jury, commented: "Economic growth is a mystery, like a beating heart. All our finalists study this mystery. The jury enthusiastically selected Deirdre McCloskey because Professor McCloskey discerned something the rest often fail to see: that ideas, even more than capital or institutions, power the heart and the growth that are so crucial to America's future."


Crime Writers of Canada announced winners of this year's Arthur Ellis Awards for Excellence in Crime Writing, with Donna Morrissey taking the best novel prize for The Fortunate Brother and Elle Wild winning the best debut novel category for Strange Things Done. Quillblog featured a complete list of Arthur Ellis category winners.

Powered by: Xtenit