Awards: N.Z. Prime Minister's for Literary Achievement

Creative New Zealand has announced winners of the 2017 Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement, each of whom will receive NZ$60,000 (about US$43,705) "in recognition of their outstanding contribution to New Zealand literature." This year's winners are internationally renowned Māori novelist Witi Ihimaera (fiction), literary historian and fine arts writer Peter Simpson (nonfiction) and popular poet and children's author Paula Green (poetry).

Arts Council chair Michael Moynahan said, "Our congratulations to this year's recipients who are being recognized for their extraordinary legacy of literary achievement. As leaders in their respective crafts, they have engaged New Zealand readers with their story telling and have inspired other New Zealand writers to build on their literary legacy."

In addition, the NZ$100,000 (about US$72,845) Michael King Writer's Fellowship, which is given annually "for a project that will take two or more years to complete," went to author and composer Dr. Philip Norman "to complete a lifetime of work studying New Zealand classical music identifying influential composers, works and performances, and tracing key developments through the decades."

Powered by: Xtenit