Awards: Miles Franklin; Lilly/Rosenberg Poetry; Neustadt

Extinctions by Josephine Wilson has won the A$60,000 (about US$48,140) Miles Franklin Award, Australia's most prestigious literary award, given annually "to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases."


The Poetry Foundation and Poetry magazine have awarded $129,000 in prizes to five young poets through the Ruth Lilly & Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowships, which are "intended to encourage the further study and writing of poetry" and are open to all U.S. poets between the ages of 21 and 31. Fatimah Asghar, Sumita Chakraborty, Cortney Lamar Charleston, Roy G. Guzmán and Emily Jungmin Yoon will each receive $25,800.

Don Share, editor of Poetry magazine, said: "In a year during which some readers have asked 'Why poetry?' here are poets whose work not only provides a powerful answer, but demonstrates that the present--and future--of poetry have never been in such fine hands. A deviser of an Emmy-nominated web series, a Ph.D. student in East Asian languages and civilizations, a poetry editor and scholar of literature, a graduate of the Wharton School, and a human rights researcher--this year's Lilly/Rosenberg Fellows are remarkably talented on and off the page, each an embodiment of what Czesław Miłosz meant when he said that poetry 'is a dividend from what you know and what you are.' "


World Literature Today announced the shortlist for the $50,000 Neustadt International Prize for Literature, which "recognizes significant contributions to the world of literature and has a history as a forerunner to the Nobel Prize in Literature." The winner will be named November 9 during the Neustadt Festival. This year's finalists are:

Emmanuel Carrère (France)
Edwidge Danticat (Haiti and U.S.)
Amitav Ghosh (India)
Aracelis Girmay (U.S.)
Mohsin Hamid (Pakistan)
Jamaica Kincaid (U.S.)
Yusef Komunyakaa (U.S.)
Patricia Smith (U.S.)
Ludmila Ulitskaya (Russia)

Powered by: Xtenit