Awards: Goldsmiths; Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction

The shortlist has been announced for the £10,000 (about $13,420) 2017 Goldsmiths Prize, which is given to a book of fiction "that is deemed genuinely novel and which embodies the spirit of invention that characterises the genre at its best." The winner will be announced on November 15. The six shortlisted titles are:

H(a)ppy by Nicola Barker
A Line Made by Walking by Sara Baume
Playing Possum by Kevin Davey
Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor
First Love by Gwendoline Riley
Phone by Will Self


Finalists have been announced for the CA$50,000 (about US$40,385) Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, recognizing authors of the year's best novel or short story collection. The winner will be named November 14 at the Writers' Trust Awards ceremony in Toronto. The five finalists are:

Bad Endings by Carleigh Baker
The Last Neanderthal by Claire Cameron
Brother by David Chariandy
American War by Omar El Akkad
This Accident of Being Lost by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson 

Powered by: Xtenit