Awards: NBA Shortlist; Governor General's Literary

The National Book Foundation announced finalists for this year's National Book Awards. Winners in each category will be announced at the National Book Awards Ceremony and Benefit Gala on November 15. This year's shortlisted titles are:

Dark at the Crossing by Elliot Ackerman (Knopf)
The Leavers by Lisa Ko (Algonquin)
Pachinko by Min Jin Lee (Grand Central)
Her Body and Other Parties: Stories by Carmen Maria Machado (Graywolf Press)
Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward (Scribner)

Never Caught: The Washingtons' Relentless Pursuit of Their Runaway Slave, Ona Judge by Erica Armstrong Dunbar (Atria/37 INK)
The Evangelicals: The Struggle to Shape America by Frances FitzGerald (S&S)
The Future Is History: How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia by Masha Gessen (Riverhead)
Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann (Doubleday)
Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right's Stealth Plan for America by Nancy MacLean (Viking)

Half-light: Collected Poems 1965-2016 by Frank Bidart (FSG)
The Book of Endings by Leslie Harrison (University of Akron Press)
WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier (Graywolf Press)
In the Language of My Captor by Shane McCrae (Wesleyan University Press)
Don't Call Us Dead: Poems by Danez Smith (Graywolf Press)

Young People's Literature
What Girls Are Made Of by Elana K. Arnold (Carolrhoda Lab/Lerner)
Far from the Tree by Robin Benway (HarperTeen)
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sánchez (Knopf Books for Young Readers)
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground by Rita Williams-Garcia (Amistad)
American Street by Ibi Zoboi (Balzer + Bray/ HarperCollins)


The Canada Council for the Arts has announced finalists in 14 English- and French-language categories for this year's Governor General's Literary Awards. Category winners, who will be named November 1, are awarded C$25,000 (about $20,035). The publisher of each winning book receives $3,000 to support promotional activities. Non-winning finalists each receive $1,000. A complete list of finalists is available here.

Powered by: Xtenit