IndieBound: Other Indie Favorites

From last week's Indie bestseller lists, available at, here are the recommended titles, which are also Indie Next Great Reads:

Need to Know: A Novel by Karen Cleveland (Ballantine Books, $26, 9781524797027). "Vivian Miller is a CIA analyst working on Russian sleeper cells. She is good at her job, and dedicated. But what she discovers will blow apart everything she thought she knew about her life. What do you do when the choice is country or family? How do you protect your children--and Vivian cares deeply about her children--while walking a tightrope between two superpowers? What do you do when the betrayer is closer than you could have ever imagined? There are twists and turns aplenty as Vivian steps into a dangerous game that could destroy everything she loves and values. Karen Cleveland keeps the tension going right to the very last page." --Deon Stonehouse, Sunriver Books, Sunriver, Ore.

Eternal Life: A Novel by Dara Horn (Norton, $25.95, 9780393608533). "Eternal Life is a stunningly moving and lively investigation of mortality. It is also a story of profound love--young love, eternal love, and the love of parents for their children. Rachel, whose inability to die animates the plot, is a strong, willful, and complex woman. Dara Horn, whom I have long admired, infuses the book with her profound knowledge of Judaism, without ever becoming dull or didactic. This is an ode to the joys, sorrows, and brevity of existence as seen through the improbable lens of eternal life--and it made me cry! Highly recommended." --Lilla Weinberger, Readers' Books, Sonoma, Calif.

The Unmade World: A Novel by Steve Yarbrough (Unbridled Books, $18, 9781609531430). "The minute I opened The Unmade World, I was knocked off my feet. The grace with which Steve Yarbrough tells the story of Richard, a journalist from California who loses everything one night, and Bogdan, the down-on-his-luck Polish man who's the inadvertent cause, is sheer magic. You are in the hands of a master storyteller at the top of his game, and you will eagerly follow him from a dark winter night in Poland to a football stadium in Fresno, through the hearts and minds of a fascinating cast of supporting characters. A stunning, character-driven noir that will appeal to fans of Philip Kerr and Amor Towles, and, without question, Steve Yarbrough." --Mary Cotton, Newtonville Books, Newton Centre, Mass.

For Ages 4 to 8
Elmore by Holly Hobbie (Random House, $17.99, 9781524718633). "Elmore is a porcupine covered with prickly quills that make it a little difficult for him to make friends. Though he enjoys solitude, he longs for some company. While talking with his uncle about the issue, he has a brilliant idea: to make quill pens for all of his forest peers! The critters love their new pens and write him wonderful notes. Elmore understands that the forest critters are only afraid of the quills because they are new and unfamiliar. His lovely idea introduces his quills to his potential friends in a positive light. Bonus: Hundred Acre Wood-reminiscent illustrations that will make you warm inside." --Bianca Walters, The Book Table, Oak Park, Ill.

For Ages 9 to 12
The Doldrums and the Helmsley Curse by Nicholas Gannon (Greenwillow, $17.99, 9780062320971). "Archer's friendship with Oliver and Adelaide is brilliant and remains true throughout the craziest adventures. In this Doldrums series story, Archer's grandparents are back and under intense scrutiny from the Society. They are accused of lies and insanity, and Archer is determined to prove them innocent. Together, the three friends break through figurative and literal closed doors to reveal the truth. I definitely did not want to leave the world of the Doldrums." --Sarah Hopkins, The Bookworm of Edwards, Edwards, Colo.

For Teen Readers: An Indies Introduce Title
The Dangerous Art of Blending In by Angelo Surmelis (Balzer+Bray, $17.99, 9780062659002). "The Dangerous Art of Blending In is a beautiful, captivating, and heartbreaking story about a teenage boy, Evan, overcoming extensive abuse at the hands of his parents. Evan can't help but feel like an outsider due to his immigrant status and his sexuality. This book is uplifting and hopeful through to the end, which is astounding given the content. It breaks my heart that this is based on the author's own childhood, but I am so glad that he has chosen to share his story. It will be a great resource for teens who are struggling with abuse, their own sexuality, or feeling like an outsider." --Kristen Beverly, Half Price Books, Dallas, Tex.

[Many thanks to IndieBound and the ABA!]

Powered by: Xtenit