Awards: Lukas and Lynton; International Arabic Fiction

The shortlists for the 2018 J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award, the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize and the Mark Lynton History Prize, sponsored by the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University, can be seen below. Winners and runners-up will be announced March 27 and be presented at a ceremony on May 10 at Columbia.

J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award:
Soul Full of Coal Dust by Chris Hamby (Little, Brown)
Eyes in the Sky by Arthur Holland Michel (Eamon Dolan Books)
No Visible Bruises by Rachel Louise Snyder (Bloomsbury)
Lightning Flowers by Katherine E. Standefer (Little, Brown)
The Trials of Barbara Briggs by Susan Vinocour (Norton)

J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize:
American Wolf by Nate Blakeslee (Crown)
Nomadland by Jessica Bruder (Norton)
Janesville by Amy Goldstein (Simon & Schuster)
The Far Away Brothers by Lauren Markham (Crown)
The Newcomers by Helen Thorpe (Scribner)

Mark Lynton History Prize:
The Thin Light of Freedom by Edward L. Ayers (Norton)
Ali by Jonathan Eig (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
The Evangelicals by Frances FitzGerald (Simon & Schuster)
Prairie Fires by Caroline Fraser (Metropolitan Books)
Stalin by Stephen Kotkin (Penguin Press)


A shortlist has been revealed for the 2018 International Prize for Arabic Fiction. The winner will be announced April 24, on the eve of the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair. The six shortlisted authors receive $10,000, with a further $50,000 going to the winner. This year's finalists are:

The Second War of the Dog by Ibrahim Nasrallah (Palestine/Jordan)
The Frightened by Dima Wannous (Syria)
The Critical Case of "K" by Aziz Mohammed (Saudi Arabia)
Heir of the Tombstones by Walid Shurafa (Palestine)
Flowers in Flames by Amir Tag Elsir (Sudan)
Baghdad Clock by Shahad Al Rawi (Iraq)

Powered by: Xtenit