Awards: Windham-Campbell, B&N Discover Winners; Stella Shortlist

Winners were announced for the Windham-Campbell Prizes, which is administered by Yale University's Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library "to call attention to literary achievement and provide writers with the opportunity to focus on their work independent of financial concerns." Each of the eight winners receives $165,000 and will be honored September 12-14 during an international literary festival at Yale. This year's Windham-Campbell Prize recipients are:

Fiction: John Keene (U.S.) and Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (Uganda/U.K.)
Nonfiction: Sarah Bakewell (U.K.) and Olivia Laing (U.K.)
Poetry: Lorna Goodison (Jamaica) and Cathy Park Hong (U.S.)
Drama: Lucas Hnath (U.S.) and Suzan-Lori Parks (U.S.)


The winners of Barnes & Noble's 2017 Discover Awards for fiction and nonfiction, each of whom receives a cash prize of $30,000 and a year of marketing and merchandising support from B&N, are:

Fiction: Sorry to Disrupt the Peace by Patty Yumi Cottrell (McSweeney's), which the bookseller described as "a darkly comic debut novel about a young woman seeking an explanation for her adoptive brother's suicide."

Nonfiction: Nomadland: Surviving America in the Twenty-First Century by Jessica Bruder (Norton), "a finely reported narrative that follows a new generation of itinerant workers."

Second-place winners, each of whom receives $15,000:

Fiction: The End We Start From by Megan Hunter (Grove/Atlantic), "a poetic parable of new motherhood."

Nonfiction: Down City: A Daughter's Story of Love, Memory and Murder by Leah Carroll (Grand Central), "an unforgettable memoir that turns to gritty 1980s Providence, Rhode Island, to tell her tragic--and uplifting--family story."

Third place winners, each of whom receives $7,500:

Fiction: The Leavers by Lisa Ko (Algonquin Books), "a powerful story of parents and children and how the bond between them are tested."

Nonfiction: The Cooking Gene: A Journey Through African-American Culinary History in the Old South by Michael Twitty (Amistad Books), "a remarkable culinary history that is also part memoir and part detective story."


The shortlist for the 2018 Stella Prize, which honors Australian women's writing, is:

The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree by Shokoofeh Azar (Wild Dingo Press)
Terra Nullius by Claire G. Coleman (Hachette Australia)
The Life to Come by Michelle de Kretser (Allen & Unwin)
An Uncertain Grace by Krissy Kneen (Text Publishing)
The Fish Girl by Mirandi Riwoe (Seizure)
Tracker by Alexis Wright (Giramondo)

The winner will be announced on April 12.

Powered by: Xtenit