Awards: Audie Finalists; IBPA Ben Franklin Finalists; Wellcome Book Shortlist

The Audio Publishers Association has announced the Audie Award finalists in four categories. The winners of the three excellence awards will be revealed at the APA's conference May 30 in New York and the winner of the Audiobook of the Year award will be named at the Audie Awards Gala on May 31. For a full list of finalists, click here.

Nominees for Audiobook of the Year are:

Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood written and narrated by Trevor Noah (Audible Studios)
Columbus Day: Expeditionary Force, Book 1 by Craig Alanson, narrated by R.C. Bray (Podium Publishing)
The Handmaid's Tale: Special Edition by Margaret Atwood and Valerie Martin, narrated by Claire Danes, Margaret Atwood, and a full cast (Audible Studios)
Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders, narrated by George Saunders, Nick Offerman, David Sedaris, and 163 others (Random House Audio)
The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness, written and narrated by Paula Poundstone (HighBridge Audio, a division of Recorded Books)


The Independent Book Publishers Association has announced finalists in 54 categories for the 30th Benjamin Franklin Award Program for Excellence in Independent Book Publishing. Gold and Silver winners to be announced April 6 during a gala dinner ceremony in conjunction with IBPA Publishing University in Austin, Texas. Finalists can be seen here.


A six-book shortlist, featuring five titles by women and four debuts, was released for the £30,000 (about $41,995) Wellcome Book Prize, "celebrating the best new books that illuminate our encounters with health, medicine and illness." The winner will be announced April 30. This year's shortlisted titles are:

Stay With Me by Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀ (Nigeria)
The Butchering Art by Lindsey Fitzharris (U.S.)
With the End in Mind by Kathryn Mannix (U.K.)
To Be a Machine by Mark O'Connell (Ireland)
Mayhem: A Memoir by Sigrid Rausing (U.K./Sweden)
The Vaccine Race by Meredith Wadman (U.S./Canada)

Powered by: Xtenit