Awards: J. Anthony Lukas; Hans Christian Andersen

The winners and finalists of the 2018 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards, administered by the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard and honoring the best in American nonfiction writing, are:

The J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize:
Winner: Amy Goldstein for Janesville: An American Story (Simon & Schuster)
Finalist: Jessica Bruder for Nomadland: Surviving America in the Twenty-First Century (Norton)

The Mark Lynton History Prize:
Winner: Stephen Kotkin for Stalin: Waiting for Hitler, 1929-1941 (Penguin Press)
Finalist: Caroline Fraser for Prairie Fires: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder (Metropolitan Books)

The J. Anthony Lukas Work-In-Progress Award:
Chris Hamby for Soul Full of Coal Dust: The True Story of an Epic Battle for Justice (Little, Brown)
Rachel Louise Snyder for No Visible Bruises: What We Don't Know About Violence Can Kill Us (Bloomsbury)


The winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Awards, sponsored by the International Board of Books for Young People and recognizing "lifelong achievement" by an author and an illustrator "whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children's literature," are Eiko Kadono of Japan for writing and Igor Oleynikov of Russia for illustration.

Powered by: Xtenit