Awards: James Beard; Stephen Leacock Humor

The winners of the 2018 James Beard Foundation Book Awards are:

Book of the Year: The Cooking Gene by Michael W. Twitty (Amistad)
Cookbook Hall of Fame: Betty Fussell
American: The Sioux Chef's Indigenous Kitchen by Sean Sherman with Beth Dooley (University of Minnesota Press)
Baking and Desserts: BraveTart: Iconic American Desserts by Stella Parks (Norton)
Beverage: Meehan's Bartender Manual by Jim Meehan (Ten Speed Press)
General: Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat by Samin Nosrat (S&S)
Health and Special Diets: Deepa's Secrets by Deepa Thomas (Skyhorse)
International: Nopalito by Gonzalo Guzman and Stacy Adimando (Ten Speed Press)
Photography: Cook Beautiful by Johnny Miller (Abrams)
Reference, History, and Scholarship: Champagne by Peter Liem (Ten Speed Press)
Restaurant and Professional: Modernist Bread by Nathan Myhrvold and Francisco Migoya (The Cooking Lab)
Single Subject: The Pho Cookbook by Andrea Nguyen (Ten Speed Press)
Vegetable-Focused Cooking: Six Seasons: A New Way with Vegetables by Joshua McFadden with Martha Holmberg (Artisan Books)
Writing: The Cooking Gene by Michael W. Twitty (Amistad)


A 10-title longlist has been released for the C$15,000 (about US$11,660) Stephen Leacock Medal for Humor, which honors the best book of humor written by a Canadian. A shortlist will be unveiled May 2 and the winner named June 9. This year's longlisted titles are:

Stella Ryman and the Fairmount Manor Mysteries by Mel Anastasiou
Gone to Pot by Jennifer Craig
Six Degrees of Freedom by Nicolas Dickner
Class Mom by Laurie Gelman
Beforelife by Randal Graham
The Discovery of Honey by Terry Griggs
Opportunity Knox: Twenty Years of Award-Losing Humour Writing by Jack Knox
One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter by Scaachi Koul
The Gynesaurs by P. H. Oliver
Love and Laughter in the Time of Chemotherapy by Manjusha Pawagi

Powered by: Xtenit