Awards: Golden Man Booker; Theakston Old Peculier Crime

A five-novel shortlist has been announced for the Golden Man Booker Prize, which was created to showcase the winning titles from Man Booker history "that have best stood the test of time." The winner will be announced July 8 from the Man Booker 50 Festival at the Southbank Centre in London.

Five judges were appointed to read the winning novels from each decade of the prize and then choose what, in his or her opinion, was the best winner from that particular decade. The judges were writer and editor Robert McCrum (1970s); poet Lemn Sissay (1980s); novelist Kamila Shamsie (1990s); broadcaster and novelist Simon Mayo (2000s); and poet Hollie McNish (2010s). The Golden Man Booker shortlisted titles are:

In a Free State by V. S. Naipaul
Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively
The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje
Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders.


A shortlist has been released for this year's Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, which celebrates "the very best in crime fiction" and is open to U.K. and Irish crime authors. The shortlist will feature in a six-week promotion in libraries and in WH Smith stores nationwide.

The overall winner, decided by a panel of judges as well as a public vote, will be named July 19 on the opening night of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate. The winner receives £3,000 (about $3,995) and a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakston Old Peculier. The shortlisted titles are:

Insidious Intent by Val McDermid
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner
Spook Street by Mick Herron
The Long Drop by Denise Mina
A Rising Man by Abir Mukherjee
The Intrusions by Stav Sherez

Powered by: Xtenit