Awards: Carnegie Medals; Rogers Writers' Trust; Deborah Pease

Longlists for the 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction have been announced. Shortlists will be released October 24. Winning authors receive $5,000. The two medal winners will be unveiled January 27 during the American Library Association's Midwinter Meeting in Seattle, Wash. See the complete longlists here.


Finalists have been announced for the CA$50,000 (about US$39,015) Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, recognizing authors of the year's best novel or short story collection. The winner will be named November 7 at the Writers' Trust Awards ceremony in Toronto. The five finalists are:

The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson
Washington Black by Esi Edugyan
Beirut Hellfire Society by Rawi Hage
Land Mammals and Sea Creatures by Jen Neale
Dear Evelyn by Kathy Page


Michael Silverblatt, host of Bookworm on KCRW in Los Angeles, is the inaugural recipient of the Deborah Pease Prize, created by A Public Space in the name of its late founding benefactor. The prize honors "a figure who has advanced the art of literature." Silverblatt, the organizers said, "has reinvented the art of literary conversation."

Silverblatt will receive the award at A Public Space's benefit on December 6 in Brooklyn, N.Y.

Powered by: Xtenit