Awards: William Mills Polar Winner; Tony Ryan Finalists

The winner of the 2022 William Mills Prize for Non-Fiction Polar Books, awarded every other year by the Polar Libraries Colloquy for "the best Arctic or Antarctic non-fiction books published throughout the world," is The Nansen Photographs by Geir Kløver (The Fram Museum).

Organizers praised the winning title for using "documents and recovered photographs to tell the story of Norwegian Arctic explorer Fridtjof Nansen and his ground-breaking efforts to reach the North Pole in the specially-designed polar ship the Fram."

The two honorable mentions were:
What I Remember, What I Know: The Life of a High Arctic Exile by Larry Audlaluk (Inhabit Media), which tells the story of the struggle of Audlaluk's family to survive after its relocation by the Canadian Government to the high Arctic.
Antarctic Atlas: New Maps and Graphics that Tell the Story of a Continent by Peter Fretwell (Particular Books/PRH), which presents a collection of new maps and charts to tell the story of Antarctica's history, climate, resources, oceans, atmosphere, wildlife and more.


Finalists for the $10,000 2021 Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award, celebrating the best of long-format horse race writing, have been announced. The three titles include two works of fiction, "both lively tales featuring strong female protagonists," and a nonfiction title about "a one-eyed champion's trek to the apex of his sport." The winner will be announced November 3.

The finalists:
Death by Equine by Annette Dashofy
Racetrack Rogues: One Woman's Story of Family, Love, and Loss in the Horse Racing World by Dawn LeFevre
Run With a Mighty Heart by Jennifer Morrison

Powered by: Xtenit