Awards: Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Shortlist

A shortlist has been released for the 2022 Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award, which celebrates storytelling in all genres and is presented to awarded annually to "a compelling novel with brilliant characterization and a distinct voice that is confidently written and assuredly realized." The winner, who receives both £2,000 (about $2,365) and a handmade glass bell, will be named September 8. This year's shortlisted titles are:

We Are All Birds of Uganda by Hafsa Zayyan
Sistersong by Lucy Holland
Ariadne by Jennifer Saint
Mrs. March by Virginia Feito.
The Wolf Den by Elodie Harper, 
Daughters of the Night by Laura Shepherd-Robinson

"We've always been keen to celebrate all genres with the Glass Bell, and these novels all push at the boundaries of historical, literary and crime fiction," David Headley, Goldsboro Books co-founder and managing director, and founder of the Glass Bell. "These incredible books all take the past as a starting point--from feminist and LGBTQ+ retellings of myths and legends, to a murder mystery set in Georgian London and stories of family and madness set in mid-century Uganda and New York. But most importantly of all, they are all enthralling stories."

Powered by: Xtenit