Top Library Recommended Titles for January

LibraryReads, the nationwide library staff-picks list, offers the top 10 January titles public library staff across the country love:

Top Pick
Georgie, All Along by Kate Clayborn (Kensington, $16.95, 9781496737298). "When Georgie suddenly loses her job as a personal assistant, she heads home to her parents to regroup. While there, she comes across a teenage diary and uses it to explore her life. This is a sweet, fun novel about a genuine, competent person trying to discover her true self. For fans of The Authenticity Project." --Julie Heckert, Orem Public Library, Orem, Utah

All the Dangerous Things: A Novel by Stacy Willingham (‎Minotaur, $27.99, 9781250803856). "One year after Isabelle's son was taken from his bedroom in the middle of the night, the police still have no suspects or any idea of what became of her boy. The only thing Izzy knows for certain haunts her: because she's a chronic sleepwalker, did she have something to do with her child's disappearance? For fans of Gilly Macmillan and Lisa Jewell." --K.C. Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, Conn.

Back in a Spell by Lana Harper (Berkley, $17, 9780593336106). "Witch Nina Blackmoore must decide who she is and what matters most when her rocky date with 'normie' Morty Gutierrez results in a magical bond between the two. With solid pacing, tremendous feats of magic, and a sweet and passionate romance, this third installment of the Thistle Grove series will knock your socks off. For fans of Ann Aguirre." --Shannon Collins, Upper Dublin Public Library, Fort Washington, Pa.

Bad Cree: A Novel by Jessica Johns (Doubleday, $27, 9780385548694). "When Mackenzie's nightmares start to bleed into her waking hours, she knows that she'll need to return to family to get the help she needs. First Nations author Johns creates a unique combination of cryptid terror and family strength in the face of horror and trauma. For readers of Silvia Moreno-Garcia and Eden Robinson." --Erin Downey Howerton, Wichita Public Library, Wichita, Kan.

The Bandit Queens: A Novel by Parini Shroff  (Ballantine, $28, 9780593498958). "An amazing debut novel about a group of women who are part of a micro-loan community in an Indian village. Everyone thinks Geeta has killed her no-good, rotten, abusive husband, so the other women want her to kill their husbands too. A story full of humor, pathos, and suspense." --Ariel Zeitlin, Montclair Public Library, Montclair, N.J.

The Duke Gets Even: A Novel by Joanna Shupe (Avon, $9.99, 9780063045071). "The Duke of Lockwood is visiting America to find the perfect bride--rich and scandal-free. Nellie is a wealthy heiress who purposefully ruined her reputation long ago. She uses her wealth to discreetly distribute contraceptives to women. The chemistry between Nellie and Lockwood is present from page one." --Katie Curry, Guyandotte Branch of Cabell County Public Library, Huntington, W.Va.

Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries by Heather Fawcett (Del Rey, $28, 9780593500132). "Grumpy professor Emily Wilde wishes that she did not have to 'people' while researching the first complete encyclopedia of faeries. However, a handsome rival and some quirky townsfolk conspire to crack open Emily's well-guarded heart. Readers will be enchanted with the Fae and cantankerous narrator found in this fantasy tale, like a cozy version of the Lady Trent series." --Jenna Zarzycki, King County Library System, Covington, Wash.

Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone: A Novel by Benjamin Stevenson (Mariner, $30, 9780063279025). "Ernie Cunningham writes books on how to write mystery novels for a living and is part of a family where everyone has killed someone. But the story of how and why is unraveled in the pages, and there's another murderer in the midst. The narration is perfect--a retrospective that includes lots of misdirection and breaking the fourth wall. A must-read for mystery fans." --Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, Ohio

Exes and O's by Amy Lea (Berkley, $16.99, 9780593336595). "Tara Chen believes one of her 10 exes must be her true love, so she enlists new roommate Trevor to help her reconnect with all of them. Cleverly written with all the tropes found in romance novels, but especially second-chance romance. Recommended for anyone wanting a feel-good story with a delightful heroine and handsome love interest! For Jayci Lee and Jackie Lau fans." --Elizabeth Qualls, Blackwater Regional Library, Courtland, Va.

The House in the Pines: A Novel by Ana Reyes (‎Dutton, $27, 9780593186718). "Maya sees a viral video of a woman in a diner dropping dead while seated across from her boyfriend. Maya knows this man, as years ago her friend also died suddenly in front of him. Reyes keeps readers guessing, creating a wonderfully sinister undertone while enriching the suspense by incorporating elements of Guatemala's history. For fans of Behind Her Eyes." --Blinn Sheffield, Greenwood-Leflore Public Library, Greenwood, Miss.

Powered by: Xtenit