ABA Board Nominations Set; Tegan Tigani Slated to Become President


The American Booksellers Association board of directors will have three new officers this spring, with two-year terms, following the board's approval of the nominating committee's recommendations, as reported by Bookselling This Week.

Tegan Tigani of Queen Anne Book Company, Seattle, Wash., will become president. She has been the children's book buyer since the store opened 10 years ago, and was a bookseller and kids' buyer at the predecessor bookstore, Queen Anne Books; an editor-at-large for Little Bigfoot, Sasquatch Books' children's imprint; and has been president of the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association, among other positions. She has been on the ABA board since 2019.

Tegan Tigani

Cynthia Compton of 4 Kids Books & Toys, Zionsville, Ind., and MacArthur Books, Carmel, Ind., will be vice-president/secretary. She opened 4 Kids in 2003, and has served as president of the Great Lakes Booksellers Association, on the Booksellers Advisory Council, the ABC Advisory Panel and the ABA nominating committee as well as the board of the American Specialty Toy Association. She opened MacArthur Books, a general bookstore, in 2022.

Jenny Cohen of Waucoma Bookstore, Hood River, Ore., will be vice-president. She and her husband, Muir, have owned the store since 2008. She is a former member of the ABA Booksellers Advisory Council, a former board member of Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association, and a past PNBA Book Awards Committee member.

Among current officers, the board term of president Christine Onorati of WORD Bookstores, Brooklyn, N.Y., and Jersey City, N.J., ends this year. Co-vice president/secretary Angela Maria Spring of Duende District Books, Washington, D.C., and Albuquerque, N.Mex., is resigning a year before her term ends to focus on family and creative projects. In addition, board member Melanie Knight of Books, Inc., San Francisco, Calif., is leaving the book industry, and there is a vacant seat.

Recommended to stand for election to three-year terms (2023–2026) are:

Holly Weinkauf, owner of Red Balloon Bookshop, St. Paul, Minn.
Lisa Swayze, general manager and buyer, Buffalo Street Books, Ithaca, N.Y.
Jessica Stockton Bagnulo, owner of Greenlight Bookstores, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Directors on the current board up for re-election are:

Tegan Tigani of Queen Anne Book Company, Seattle, Wash.
Diane Capriola, Little Shop of Stories, Decatur, Ga.

A ballot for the 2023 board elections will be sent to ABA members via e-mail the week of March 1, at least 60 days prior to the annual membership meeting, which is scheduled for May 25. The deadline for return of the ballots is 11:59 p.m. Eastern on April 5.

The ballot will include space for write-in candidates, but any bookstore member may submit petitions to have the names of additional candidates for board officers or directors added to the ballot. For rules about how to petition for candidates, which should be completed by February 12, see details in Bookselling This Week.

Powered by: Xtenit