Awards: First Novel; Toronto Book

The Center for Fiction has announced the shortlist for its annual $10,000 First Novel Prize:
The Castle Cross the Magnet Carter by Kia Corthron (Seven Stories Press)
The Girls by Emma Cline (Random House)
Here Comes the Sun by Nicole Dennis-Benn (Liveright)
Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi (Knopf)
How I Became a North Korean by Krys Lee (Viking)
We Love You, Charlie Freeman by Kaitlyn Greenidge (Algonquin Books)
What Belongs to You by Garth Greenwell (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)


Finalists have been announced for the C$10,000 (about US$7,625) Toronto Book Awards, which recognize "titles that speak to the city‚ its people and its heritage," Quillblog reported. The winner will be announced at the Toronto Reference Library October 11. This year's finalists are:

Men of Action by Howard Akler
Kay's Lucky Coin Variety by Ann Y.K. Choi
The Ward: The Life and Loss of Toronto's First Immigrant Neighborhood, edited by John Lorinc, Michael McClelland, Ellen Scheinberg and Tatum Taylor
On the Shores of Darkness There Is Light by Cordelia Strube
Heyday by Marnie Woodrow

Powered by: Xtenit