Awards: Lilly/Rosenberg Poetry; Bloody Scotland

The Poetry Foundation and Poetry magazine have awarded $129,000 in prizes to five young poets through the Ruth Lilly & Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowships, which are "intended to encourage the further study and writing of poetry" and are open to all U.S. poets between the ages of 21 and 31. Kaveh Akbar, Jos Charles, Angel Nafis, Alison C. Rollins and Javier Zamora will each receive $25,800.

Don Share, editor of Poetry magazine, said: "Poets aren't just makers, they are doers. Each one of the 2016 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellows excels at both of these things. They have all already had a salutary influence on American poetry, and it's an honor for us to support their distinctive and essential efforts in an art form that is reaching more people than ever before." 


A shortlist has been announced for the fourth annual £1,000 (about $1,330) Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year, which recognizes excellence in Scottish crime writing. The winner will be named September 9. This year's shortlisted titles are:

Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre
The Jump by Doug Johnstone
Splinter the Silence by Val McDermid
Beloved Poison by E.S. Thomson

Powered by: Xtenit