Awards: Bancroft; Jhalak; Tony Ryan

The three winners of the $10,000 Bancroft Prize, awarded by Columbia University for books about "diplomacy or the history of the Americas," are:

The Other Slavery: The Uncovered Story of Indian Enslavement in America by Andrés Reséndez (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy by Heather Ann Thompson (Pantheon)
Remaking the American Patient: How Madison Avenue and Modern Medicine Turned Patients into Consumers by Nancy Tomes (University of North Carolina Press)


Jacob Ross has won the inaugural £1,000 (about $1,240) Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a Writer of Colour for The Bone Readers (Peepal Tree). One of the judges, Musa Okwonga, described the work of crime fiction as "by turns thrilling, visceral and meditative, and always cinematic." The book is the first in the Camaho Quartet and is set on the small Caribbean island of Camaho.


The semi-finalists for the $10,000 2016 Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award, which honors books with a horse racing background, are:

Finding Daylight by Mara Dabrishus
Here Comes Exterminator! The Longshot Horse, the Great War, and the Making of an American Hero by Eliza McGraw
The Great Sweepstakes of 1877; A True Story of Southern Grit, Gilded Age Tycoons, and a Race That Galvanized the Nation by Mark Shrager
The Kentucky Derby by Bill Doolittle
Mr. Darley's Arabian: High Life, Low Life, Sporting Life by Christopher McGrath
Old and New Friends by Barbara Livingston

Powered by: Xtenit