Awards: Australian Book Industry; Miles Franklin

The shortlists in the 12 categories of the Australian Book Industry Awards have been announced and can be seen here. Winners will be revealed at the 17th Annual ABIAs on May 25 in Sydney, presented by the Australian Publishers Association.


This year's longlist has been announced for the AU$60,000 (about US$45,200) Miles Franklin Literary Award, Australia's prestigious prize honoring a novel "of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases." A shortlist will be unveiled June 18 at the Australian Booksellers Association conference in Melbourne, and the winner named in September. The 2017 Miles Franklin longlisted titles are:

The Easy Way Out by Steven Amsterdam
An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire
The Last Days of Ava Langdon by Mark O'Flynn
Their Brilliant Careers by Ryan O'Neill
A Loving, Faithful Animal by Josephine Rowe
Waiting by Philip Salom
Where the Trees Were by Inga Simpson
Hold by Kirsten Tranter
Extinctions by Josephine Wilson

Powered by: Xtenit