Awards: Leacock Shortlist; CWA Dagger Longlists

Three authors have been named to the shortlist of the 70th annual CA$15,000 (about US$11,145) Leacock Medal, honoring Canadian literary humor, Quillblog reported. The finalists are Gary Barwin for his Scotiabank Giller Prize–nominated Yiddish for Pirates; Amy Jones for her debut novel We're All in This Together; and Drew Hayden Taylor for his short fiction collection Take Us to Your Chief. The winner will be announced June 10.


The Crime Writers Association announced the longlists in 10 categories for its annual Dagger awards. The Diamond Dagger, for a career's outstanding contribution to crime fiction as nominated by CWA members, was announced earlier in the year and has been awarded to bestselling author Ann Cleeves. Shortlists for the Daggers will be revealed later in the summer and the winners announced at the Dagger Awards dinner in London October 26. 

Powered by: Xtenit