Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards Celebrate 50th Anniversary

Kwame Alexander and Roger Sutton

Roger Sutton, editor-in-chief of the Horn Book, and Newbery Medal-winning author Kwame Alexander (The Crossover; Out of Wonder; Animal Ark) presented the Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards at the School Library Journal Day of Dialog yesterday in New York City.

The award was established in 1967 by Paul and Ethel Heins, former editors of the Horn Book. The winners are chosen annually by an independent panel of three judges. This year's awards will be presented on October 6 at Simmons College, followed the next day by the Horn Book at Simmons Colloquium. The honored and winning books are:

Nonfiction: Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman (Holt)

Nonfiction honor:
Undefeated: Jim Thorpe and the Carlisle Indian School Football Team by Steve Sheinkin (Roaring Brook)
Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. White by Melissa Sweet (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Picture book: Freedom over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan (Caitlin Dlouhy/Atheneum)

Picture book honor:
Wolf in the Snow by Matthew Cordell (Feiwel and Friends)
Town Is by the Sea by Joanne Schwartz, illust. Sydney Smith (Groundwood)

Fiction: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Balzer + Bray)

Fiction honor:
One Last Word: Wisdom from the Harlem Renaissance by Nikki Grimes (Bloomsbury)
The Best Man by Richard Peck (Dial)

Powered by: Xtenit