Awards: Baileys Women's; IndieReader Discovery; Polari First Book

Naomi Alderman has won the £30,000 (about $38,830) Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction for The Power. Chair of judges Tessa Ross said she and the other judges "debated this wonderful shortlist for many hours but kept returning to Naomi Alderman's brilliantly imagined dystopia--her big ideas and her fantastic imagination." The novel will be published in the U.S. by Little, Brown in October.


The winners of the IndieReader Discovery Awards, sponsored by IndieReader, have been announced. All winners' titles will be considered by literary agents Dystal, Goderich & Bourret for representation consideration. Winners in 18 sub-categories can be seen here. The winners of the fiction and nonfiction categories are:

First place: Darkroom by Mary Maddox
Second place: Mists of the Serengeti by Leylah Attar
Third place: Radar Road by Nath Jones

First place: The Troll Cookbook by Karima Cammell and Clint Marsh
Second place: A Journey with Panic by James Manning and Nicola Ridgeway
Third place: Federal Prisoner Handbook by Christopher Zoukis


A longlist has been announced for the Polari First Book Prize, which celebrates "a writer whose first book explores the LGBT experience, whether in poetry, prose, fiction or nonfiction." The shortlist will be unveiled July 31, with a winner named in October. This year's longlisted titles are:

Guapa by Saleem Haddad
Expecting by Chitra Ramaswamy
Love Both Ways by Martin Patrick
We Go Around in the Night and Are Consumed by Fire by Jules Grant
Straight Jacket by Matthew Todd
Jerusalem Ablaze by Orlando Ortega-Medina
The Chemsex Monologues by Patrick Cash
Letters I Never Sent You by Paula Varjack
A Monster by Violet by Laura Wake
Rufius by Sarah Walton
Threads by Nathan Evans
The Vegetarian Tigers of Paradise by Crystal Jeans 

Powered by: Xtenit