Awards: Lambda Literary; Leacock for Humor

The winners of the 29th annual Lambda Literary Awards, which "celebrate achievement in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer writing for books published in 2016," were announced this week. Jacqueline Woodson and Jeanette Winterson were honored for their lifetime achievements. See the winners in 24 categories on Lambda Literary's website.

"In a year of great political turmoil, the Lammys were a reminder that our LGBTQ writing community remains at the forefront of resistance to attacks on our communities," said Tony Valenzuela, Lambda Literary executive director. "Congratulations to all the winners and honorees. You inspire us."


Gary Barwin won the CA$15,000 (about US$11,330) Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humor, for his Scotiabank Giller–shortlisted novel, Yiddish For Pirates, Quillblog reported. 

Powered by: Xtenit