Awards: Forward Poetry Winners

Sinéad Morrissey won the £10,000 (about $13,440) Forward Prize for the Best Poetry Collection for On Balance. Chair of the judges Andrew Marr said Morrissey's poems were "beautifully written, emotionally charged and filled with a wonderful complexity.... This is writing that successfully comes right up to the edge, again and again. We were taken by the openness, the capacity and the exuberance of this work. On Balance is a collection that readers will keep and go back to for a long time to come."

The £5,000 (about $6,720) Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection was awarded to Ocean Vuong for Night Sky with Exit Wounds. And the winner of the £1,000 ($1,345) prize for Best Single Poem was Ian Patterson for "The Plenty of Nothing."

Powered by: Xtenit