Awards: Hilary Weston Shortlist; Aurora Winners

The Writers' Trust of Canada has announced finalists for the C$60,000 (about US$48,140) Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction, which honors works published in Canada that "demonstrate a distinctive voice, as well as a persuasive and compelling command of tone, narrative, style, and technique." The winner will be named November 14. This year's shortlisted titles are:

Tomboy Survival Guide by Ivan Coyote
Birds Art Life by Kyo Maclear
Life on the Ground Floor: Letters from the Edge of Emergency Medicine by James Maskalyk
All We Leave Behind: A Reporter's Journey into the Lives of Others by Carol Off
Seven Fallen Feathers: Racism, Death and Hard Truths in a Northern City by Tanya Talaga


In conjunction with Hal-Con 2017 in Halifax, Nova Scotia, the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association announced winners of its annual Aurora Awards for the country's best science-fiction, horror and fantasy titles. Robert J. Sawyer was doubly honored, winning the best novel category for Quantum Night; as well as a special Best of the Decade Award, given once every 10 years, for the Neanderthal Parallax trilogy. A complete list of winners is available here

Powered by: Xtenit