Awards: Ruth Lilly Poetry; Maxwell E. Perkins Fiction; Branford Boase

Joy Harjo has won the $100,000 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, which honors "a living U.S. poet whose lifetime accomplishments warrant singular recognition." The award is sponsored and administered by the Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine. It will be presented June 12 during a ceremony at the Poetry Foundation.

Poetry editor Don Share commented: " 'History,' Joy Harjo writes, 'is right here, right now. We are in it; we are making it.' And we are lucky to be living in a time during which Harjo is making poetry of that history as we live it. Her work is a thrilling and necessary antidote to false news, the ephemera of digital celebrity, and other derelictions. It pushes vigorously back against forgetfulness, injustice, and negligence at every level of contemporary life. Her work moves us because it is in the continual motion of bringing forward, with grace but also acuity, our collective story, always in progress."


Morgan Entrekin, CEO and publisher of Grove Atlantic, has won the 2017 Maxwell E. Perkins Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Field of Fiction, sponsored by the Center for Fiction. The award, which recognizes "an editor, publisher, or agent who over the course of his or her career has discovered, nurtured, and championed writers of fiction in the United States," will be presented at the Center's December 5 Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner in New York City.


A shortlist has been released for the 2017 Branford Boase Award, which "celebrates the most promising book for seven-year-olds and upwards written by a first-time novelist and also highlights the importance of the editor in the development of new authors." The winning writer, who will be announced July 5 in London, is awarded £1,000 (about $1,300). Both author and editor receive a hand-crafted silver-inlaid box. This year's shortlisted titles are:

Cogheart by Peter Bunzl, edited by Rebecca Hill
We Are Giants by Amber Lee Dodd, edited by Niamh Mulvey
Little Bits of Sky by S.E. Durrant, edited by Kirsty Stansfield
The Bubble Boy by Stewart Foster, edited by Rachel Mann
The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, edited by Rachel Leyson
Beetle Boy by M.G. Leonard, edited by Barry Cunningham and Rachel Leyson
Riverkeep by Martin Stewart, edited by Shannon Cullen and Sharyn November 

Powered by: Xtenit