Awards: Kirkus, Brooklyn Public Library Winners

The winners of the 2017 Kirkus Prize, sponsored by Kirkus Reviews, are:

Fiction: What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky: Stories by Lesley Nneka Arimah (Riverhead)
Nonfiction: The Gulf: The Making of an American Sea by Jack E. Davis (Liveright/Norton)
Young Readers' Literature: The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline (DCB)

Each winner receives $50,000.


The winners of the third annual Brooklyn Public Library Literary Prizes, presented by the Brooklyn Eagles, BPL's young donor group, and recognizing "new works that reflect the Library's mission to convene renowned writers, scholars, critics, and artists with members of the borough's diverse community to discuss urgent social, political, and artistic issues that resonate with Brooklynites and the world at-large," are:

Fiction & Poetry: Tommy Pico for IRL (Birds)
Nonfiction: Richard Rothstein for The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America (Liveright)

Each winner receives $5,000.

Powered by: Xtenit