Awards: British New Year's Honors

British children's author Michael Morpurgo was knighted in this year's New Year's Honors List, while author and historian Lady Antonia Fraser and writer/broadcaster Melvyn Bragg have joined the Order of the Companions of Honor for outstanding achievements in the arts, literature, music, science, politics, industry or religion, the Bookseller reported.

Author and journalist Jilly Cooper was awarded a CBE (Commander of the British Empire) for services to literature and charity, along with Hay Festival co-founder and director Peter Florence. Revel Guest, chair of the Hay Festival, received an OBE (Officer of the British Empire) for services to literature.

Also honored with OBEs were Alison Wheeler, chief executive of Suffolk Libraries, for services to literature and libraries; Inez Lynn, former chief executive of the London Library; novelist and screenwriter Deborah Moggach; Veronica Wadley, chair of Arts Council England; and dramatist John Godber.

Powered by: Xtenit