Awards: Whiting, Stone Winners

The winners of the $50,000 Whiting Awards, sponsored by the Whiting Foundation and given to emerging writers, poets and playwrights, are:

Anne Boyer (poetry and nonfiction)
Patty Yumi Cottrell (fiction)
Nathan Alan Davis (drama)
Hansol Jung (drama)
Rickey Laurentiis (poetry)
Antoinette Nwandu (drama)
Tommy Pico (poetry)
Brontez Purnell (fiction)
Esmé Weijun Wang (nonfiction)
Weike Wang (fiction)


Colson Whitehead is the 2019 recipient of Oregon State University's Stone Award for Literary Achievement, which is presented to "a major American author who has created a body of critically acclaimed work and has mentored young writers."

Whitehead is the author of six novels, including The Underground Railroad, which won the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award, the Carnegie Medal for Fiction, the Heartland Prize, the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the Hurston/Wright Fiction Award.

Whitehead will visit Oregon in spring 2019 to accept the $20,000 award and read from his work, a visit that will coincide with the Association of Writers and Writing Programs conference, which will be held in Portland.

Larry Rodgers, dean of OSU's College of Liberal Arts, commented: "As one of America's pre-eminent novelists of the 21st century, Colson Whitehead is an audacious experimentalist as original as he is prophetic. We are thrilled to have him on campus next year, where he will give a performance open to the public."

Powered by: Xtenit