Awards: Walter Scott Historical Fiction; Ondaatje

The shortlist for this year's £25,000 (about $35,490) Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction is:

Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan
Sugar Money by Jane Harris
Grace by Paul Lynch
The Wardrobe Mistress by Patrick McGrath
Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves by Rachel Malik
The Gallows Pole by Benjamin Myers


The shortlist for the £10,000 (about $14,200) Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize, for a work that evokes "the spirit of a place" and written by someone who is a citizen of or has been a resident in the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland, is:

The Epic City by Kushanava Choudhury
Once Upon a Time in the East by Xiaolu Guo
Peculiar Ground by Lucy Hughes-Hallett
Border by Kapka Kassabova
Elmet by Fiona Mozley
Mama Amazonica by Pascale Petit

Powered by: Xtenit