Awards: Intl. Arabic Fiction Winner; Albertine Finalists

The Second War of the Dog by Ibrahim Nasrallah won the 2018 International Prize for Arabic Fiction. In addition to the $50,000 cash prize, funding will be provided for the book's English translation.

Chair of Judges Ibrahim Al Saafin praised the winning title as "a masterful vision of a dystopian future in a nameless country, using fantasy and science fiction techniques. With humor and insight, it exposes the tendency towards brutality inherent in society, imagining a time where human and moral values have been discarded and anything is permissible, even the buying and selling of human souls."


Finalists have been named for the $10,000 Albertine Prize, which is co-presented by the Cultural Services of the French Embassy and Van Cleef & Arpels to recognize "American readers' favorite French-language fiction title that has been translated into English and distributed in the US within the preceding calendar year." The winning author and translator will be honored at a ceremony on June 6. The finalists, voted on by readers, are:

Incest by Christine Angot, translated by Tess Lewis
Compass by Mathias Énard,translated by Charlotte Mandell
Not One Day by Anne Garreta, translated by Emma Ramadan
The End of Eddy by Edouard Louis, translated by Michael Lucey
Black Moses by Alain Mabanckou, translated by Helen Stevenson

Powered by: Xtenit