Awards: Maxwell Perkins; Foreword INDIES Books

Sonny Mehta, chairman and editor in chief of Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, is the recipient of the Center for Fiction's 2018 Maxwell E. Perkins Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Field of Fiction. The award recognizes "an editor, publisher, or agent who over the course of his or her career has discovered, nurtured, and championed writers of fiction in the United States" and is named after legendary Scribner's editor Maxwell E. Perkins.

Concerning Mehta, the Center wrote: "After beginning his career in London, Mr. Mehta moved to New York and joined Knopf in 1987. He is only the third head of that imprint since its founding more than a century ago, following Alfred A. Knopf and Robert Gottlieb. Under Mehta's watch, Knopf has published Toni Morrison, V.S. Naipaul, Alice Munro, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Richard Russo, Orhan Pamuk, Anne Tyler, Anne Rice, and Cormac McCarthy. He is the editor for Kazuo Ishiguro, Michael Ondaatje, Peter Carey, John Banville, Jo Nesbo, Carl Hiaasen, Rohinton Mistry, and James Ellroy, among others. And his successful launch of Stieg Larsson's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo helped usher in a new wave of bestsellers by Scandinavian thriller writers."


Winners were named for the INDIES Book of the Year Awards, which are sponsored by Foreword Reviews to "recognize the best books published in 2017 from small, indie and university presses, as well as self-published authors." You can view a complete list of the winners here.

Foreword editors also selected The Sioux Chef's Indigenous Kitchen by Sean Sherman & Beth Dooley (University of Minnesota Press) and The End We Start From by Megan Hunter (Grove Press) as the Editor's Choice winners in the nonfiction and fiction categories respectively. Patagonia was named publisher of the year.

Powered by: Xtenit