Awards: Arthur C. Clarke Shortlist; Shirley Jackson Nominees

The shortlist has been unveiled for the 2019 Arthur C. Clarke Award, given to the best science fiction novel whose U.K. edition was published in the previous year. The winning author, who will be announced July 17 at the Foyles flagship bookshop in London, receives £2,019 (about $2,625) and a commemorative engraved bookend. This year's shortlisted titles are:

Semiosis  by  Sue Burke
Revenant Gun  by Yoon Ha Lee
Frankenstein in Baghdad by  Ahmed Saadawi
The Electric State  by Simon Stålenhag
Rosewater by  Tade Thompson
The Loosening Skin by Aliya Whiteley


Nominees have been announced for the 2018 Shirley Jackson Awards, which honor "outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic."

Powered by: Xtenit