Awards: Heartland Booksellers Winners; Goldsmiths Shortlist

Winners have been named for the Heartland Booksellers Award, a prize given jointly by the Midwest Independent Booksellers Association and the Great Lakes Independent Booksellers Association to celebrate literature in the Great Lakes and Midwest. The winners will be honored on opening night of this year's Heartland Fall Forum in St. Louis, Mo. The winners are: 

Fiction: The Sentence by Louise Erdrich (Harper)
Nonfiction: In Praise of Good Bookstores by Jeff Deutsch (Princeton University Press)
Poetry: There Are Trans People Here by H. Melt (Haymarket Books)
YA/Middle Grade: The Beatryce Prophecy by Kate DiCamillo (Candlewick Press)
Picture Book: The Year We Learned to Fly by Jacqueline Woodson, illustrated by Rafael López (Nancy Paulsen Books)


A shortlist was released for the £10,000 (about $11,420) Goldsmiths Prize, which recognizes "fiction that breaks the mold or extends the possibilities of the novel form." The winner will be named November 10. This year's finalists are:

Somebody Loves You by Mona Arshi
Seven Steeples by Sara Baume
Maps of Our Spectacular Bodies by Maddie Mortimer
Peaces by Helen Oyeyemi
there are more things by Yara Rodrigues Fowler
Diego Garcia by Natasha Soobramanien & Luke Williams

Powered by: Xtenit