Awards: Jhalak Winners; Wilbur Smith Adventure Shortlist

Anansi's Gold: The Man Who Swindled the World by Yepoka Yeebo (Bloomsbury) has won the £1,000 (about $1,275) Jhalak Prize, which celebrates books by writers of color in the U.K. and Ireland.

Safiyyah's War by Hiba Noor Khan has won the Jhalak Children's & YA Prize.


The shortlist has been selected for the £10,000 (about $12,750) 2024 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize. The winner will be announced September 19. The shortlist:

Light Over Liskeard by Louis de Bernières
Blessings by Chukwuebuka Ibeh
Our Hideous Progeny by C.E. McGill
The Curse of Pietro Houdini by Derek B. Miller
Saltblood by Francesca de Tores
Hard by a Great Forest by Leo Vardiashvili

Powered by: Xtenit